Days Results 9 / 3-1-6
2023 Overall — 1,204 1204 / 411-418-551
Win % of Top Pick 34.14%
Payoff % of Top 3 Picks Overall 38.21%
2023 Only / Top Pick in the Money Overall — 754-1,204 62.62%
2023 Only / Top Pick in the Money @ SAR — 4-7 57.14%
2023 Only / Top Pick Wins @ SAR — 1-7 14.29%
2023 Only / Top Pick in the Money @ EP 68-108 62.96%
2023 Only / Top Pick Wins @ EP 41-108 37.96%
2023 Only / Top Pick in the Money @ CD – EP 87-135 64.44%
2023 Only / Top Pick Wins @ CD — EP 45-135 33.33%
2023 Only / Top Pick in the Money @ HI 88-128 68.75%
2023 Only / Top Pick Wins @ HI 47-128 36.72%
2023 Only / Top Pick in the Money @ CD 137-215 63.72%
2023 Only / Top Pick Wins @ CD 69-215 32.09%
2023 Only / Top Pick in the Money @ Belmont 6-12 50.00%
2023 Only / Top Pick Wins @ Belmont 4-12 33.33%
2023 Only / “Key Horses” @ Belmont 4/2-0-1 50% Win / 75.00% ITM
2023 Only / “Key Horses” @ CD 33/11-10-3 33.33% Win / 72.73% ITM
2023 Only / “Key Horses” @ KEE 2 / 2-0-0 100.00% Win / 100.00% ITM
2023 Only / “Key Horses” @ TP 45/21-8-4 46.47% Win / 73.33% ITM
2023 Only / “Key Horses” @ FG 5/1-1-1 20.00% Win / 60.00% ITM
2023 Only / “Key Horses” @ GP 6/6-0-0 100.00% Win / 100.00% ITM
2023 Only / “Key Horses” @ OP 2/1-1-0 50.00% Win / 100.00% ITM
2023 Only / “Key Horses” @ HI 24/13-2-3 54.17% Win / 75.00% ITM
2023 Only / “Key Horses” @ PIM 2/1-0-1 50.00% Win / 100.00% ITM
2023 Only / “Key Horses” @ EP 35/13-7-2 37.14% Win / 62.86% ITM
2023 Only / “Key Horses” Overall 181/78-35-18 43.09% Win / 72.38% ITM

(Stats to be updated after Ellis Park’s cards on Friday and Saturday)

Here’s our looks at the impressive card put together by the racing team at Ellis Park on the final day of the KY Downs Preview Stakes events.

Lock. Loaded. Ready to go.

1st: 4-3/1-9-7-6/5-8/2…Mo Moves (4) gets the nod in the ole’ lid-lifter at the ole’ “Pea Patch” on this Sunday Funday. This 3YO son of Mo Town was claimed last time out when he spit the bit at Churchill Downs on May 18. Runner-up and Show horse both came right back to win the next outings, though, and that figures to be a “key race.” This one had hit the board against tougher at the Fairgrounds earlier in the year. Will make the route debut here and the new trainer wins with .28% of the last 18 to do that. Rider is very talented and could help here. Tricolour (3) merits consideration here, too. This one drops in class here and ran well over the main track just two starts ago. Trainer has won 2 of 4 this meet and picks up a solid riding choice. Will be coming late. I bet the 4 across the board and then box the 4-3 in the exactas. I will key the 4-3 over/under the 1-9-7-6 in two smaller units. 

2nd: 4-7/9/2-8/3-6/1-5…Treaty (4) won the last time out here on June 15 and has the speed to be dangerous on the repeat. Trainer has won with .24% of just 29 starts this year. Rider returns to the saddle and this one is now 2-for-2 over this track. Hard to knock. Madison Luvs Duke (10) could be our first Upset Special. This one is listed at odds of 10-1 by Brisnet.com in the ML. Like that. Ran well last time out over the sod and now moves to the main track. Karen wins with .17% of the last 59 to make this surface switch. Chance here. I bet the 4-7 across the board and then box these two in the exactas. I will key the 4-7 over/under the 9 in two smaller units. 

3rd: 6-5/8-1-10/9-7/3-2…This is the first grass event of the day and will be contested at 5.5-furlongs. I go with Scatlie (6). This 3YO filly has run two solid efforts for a top trainer, who is winning at a .25% rate when going from a route distance to the sprint. Gets a new rider, who has won with .33% for this barn of late. Like this one. A lot. A whole lot. Our Dotsie (5) could add some value to the play here. This one is 6-1 in the ML and has run two good ones so far. Coming off a layoff, again, and I don’t like that. But the trainer is having a super meet and the rider is doing well, as well. Looks like the last work on July 26 was perfect setup for this effort. I bet the 6 across the board and double down on the win wager. I will box the 6-5 in the exactas. I will key the 6-5 over/under the 8-1-10-9-7 in two smaller units. 

4th: 6-11-9/8-10/5-2/1-3…Gettysburg Address (6) is a first-timer for the barn of Brad Cox, who is winning at a .32% rate after the first 25 starts this meet. Sire of this one throws .17% winners on first ask and the dam has 3 winners from 4 starters. Like the work pattern. Rider is just 1-for-31 so far this meet. Needs a winner. Tifareeh (11) could be a nice upset here, at 15-1 ML odds. Gets a top, top, top rider for this first effort and has the super breeding, as well. Love this one. Love. I bet the 6-11 across the board and then double down on the win wager on the #11. Take note. I will box the top 3 numbers in the exactas. I will key the 6-11 over/under the 9-8-10-5-2 in two smaller units. 

5th: 9-8-2/5-1-6/4/3-7…Devious Dame (9) has not raced since a debacle at Monmouth Park last August. Was last by many as the odds-on favorite in that one. Not seen since. Something, obviously, happened in that one. But? This one did win the Astoria Stakes in the 2nd career start and is working very well for the return. This one should be a tough out if ready here. I bet the 9 across the board and then double down on the win wager. I will box the top 3 numbers in the exactas. I will key the 9 over/under the 8-2-5-1-6-4 in two smaller units. 

6th: 9-10/1/4/7-8-12/2-5/6…KY Downs Preview Turf Sprint…This 5.5-furlong event is for the boys and I go outside to One Timer (9) for this highly competitive race. Trainer is winning with .34% of 143 starts this year and knows how to get one to the winner’s circle. Has gone 2-1-0 in 4 starts at this distance. Brings the rider along, too. Serious. Bad Beat Brian (10) has never won here but has a 2nd and a 3rd in two previous tries. At this distance? Has gone 5-5-5 in 21 outs. Nice. Will be pressing the pace from the get. Just Might (1) is a true war  horse and one of my favorites of all time. Have one of his halters handing in my office here (thanks to good friend Michelle Lovell). Look out here. This ole’ man still has something to offer them. I bet the 9 across the board and double down on the win wager. I will box the 9-10-1 in the exactas. I will also key the 9 over/under the 10-1-4-7-80-12 in two smaller units. 

7th: 9-2/4-5-8/10-11-7/3…KY Downs Preview Ladies Turf Mile…New Year’s Eve (9) is still a few months away, but it will get here sooner than latter. Bet you! And this 4YO daughter of Kitten’s Joy will be coming ate in this event, too. But does have 3 wins and 4 more thirds in 10 lifetime tries over the old and has been running against tougher. Race two ago was spot on and gets a top rider back up. Threat. Henrietta Topham (2) has a win over this sod and has 3 wins in 7 tries at this distance, too. Rider is salty as the day is long and this one will be coming hard at wire time. I bet the 9-2 across the board and then box these two sternly in the exactas. I will key the 9-2 over/under the 4-5-8-10-11-7 in two smaller units. 

8th: 4-1-9/2/5-6/7-8/3…G3 Pucker Up Stakes…This is a hold-over from the days at Arlington Park and will be contested at 11/8-miles. I go with Safeen (4) here. This 3YO daughter of War Front has superior breeding and has never missed the board in 6 tries over the grass. Nearly won here on July 1 — even though having to steady in the stretch. Look for this one to run huge. Huge. I bet the 4 across the board and double down on the win wager. I will triple down, too. I will box the top 3 in the exactas, and key the 4 over/under the 1-9-2-5-6 in two smaller units. 

9th: 11-4/8-2/7/3-5-9-12/1-10/6…KY Downs Preview Turf Cup Stakes…This is the 11/4-mile marathon event and I will saddle up with Spooky Channel (11). This one has never won at this distance, but does have a 2nd in 3 tries. That could be the challenge for the new rider, whom I have great respect for. The rider won on this one the day after Christmas in 2022 at the Fairgrounds. They know each other well. Will do best running from a nice stalking spot. If he has room late? Look out. Get Smokin (4) is a speedster and one they will have to run down at wire time. Gets a top rider up for the first time and does have a 2nd over this track last time out. In 25 lifetime tries over the sod, this one has gone 5-7-2. Nice. But needs a little breathing room on the front end. Distance is main concern. I bet the 11 across the board and then double down on the win wager. I will box the 11-4 in the exactas. I will key the 11-4 over/uner the 8-2-7-3-5-9-12 in two smaller units. 

Good Luck & All the Best / Gene