LOCATION: Baltimore, Md.

Date: May 20, 2017

Racetrack: Pimlico Race Course

Stakes Record Time / Held By: 1:53.00, Secretariat (1973)

Purse: $1.5 million

Distance: 1 3/16 miles (9.5 furlongs)

Inaugurated: 1873

2016 Winner: Exaggerator (Program Number – 5)

2016 Winning Jockey: Kent Desormeaux, who rode for his brother, trainer J. Keith Desormeaux. Neither have a horse in this year’s edition.

Last Triple Crown Winner: American Pharoah (2015)

Interesting Factoid: The Preakness Stakes was run at Pimlico Race Course in Maryland from 1873 to 1889. It was switched to Morris Park Racecourse in 1890, but then was not held in 1891, 1892 or 1893. And although it began before the Kentucky Derby, it has been run fewer times. This year, Churchill Downs hosted the 143rd edition of the Run for the Roses. From 1894 to 1907, the Preakness Stakes was held at Gravesend Race Track, before returning to Pimlico in 1908 – where it has been held every year since.

How Kentucky Derby Runner-ups Fare in the Preakness: Courtesy of The Daily Racing Form (2016) — Since 1963, no less than 40 Derby runner-ups have run back in the Preakness Stakes, joining 38 Derby winners in that time span. In 18 of those races, the Derby winner prevailed, and eight times an identical 1-2 finish. Only four times did the Derby runner-up win the Preakness. Who were they?
Forward Pass in 1968 (who later was awarded the winner’s purse in the Derby due to a disqualification), Summer Squall in 1990, Prairie Bayou in 1993 and Exaggerator in 2016.

Over that time period, the Derby runner-up has an impressive record of 40-4-12-8 in the Preakness.

So how ya liking Lookin’ at Lee now?

How Horses That Skipped the Derby fare in the Preakness: From The Daily Racing Form (2016) – Since 1963, horses that didn’t compete in the Derby have a combined record of 261-7-16-16 in the Preakness. The last horse to skip the Derby and win the Preakness? The dazzling filly Rachel Alexandra.

Most Famous Post Position in the Preakness: PP #3. The temporary home of Secretariat and California Chrome. Since 1963, horses breaking from the #3 post have won nine times, tied with post 6 for the most wins.

The Toughest Post Position to Win From: PP #1. Horses breaking from the rail have a record of 53-2-7-9 over the same time period. The most famous horse to win from Post #1? American Pharoah. Makes it even more special.

The horse broke well today,” Gaffalione said. “I had the horse inside, Dunph, going to the lead and then (Gun It) showed a little bit of speed. When I saw they were intent on going I just tried to get him back and got him to relax. He came back to me nicely and settled well down the backside. Got a little keen going into the far turn and wanted to move a little early. But I didn’t want to take too much away from him so I tried to sit as long as I could. He was waiting on horses down the lane but I kept him at task and there was plenty of horse there.”

“Mark (Casse, the trainer) and his team have done a great job,” Gaffalione said. “They’ve had a ton of confidence in this horse the whole way. It’s just an honor to be able to ride the horse. He’s just so professional, trains great and he’s a pleasure to be around.”

Tyler Gaffalione, Rode of War of Will to victory in the G2 Risen Star Stakes at the Fair Grounds
  • Gene McLean

    Gene McLean

    Gene McLean began his professional career in 1977 as a sportswriter and columnist for the Lexington Herald-Leader in Lexington, Ky., and was recognized as one of the state’s best writers, winning the prestigious “Sportswriter of the Year” honor in 1985. Now the President and Publisher of The Pressbox, McLean sets ...

    Full Bio >

More From Gene McLean